Forest Swords


  • Sale
  • Regular price £27.99
Tax included.

All orders will be posted on 20/10/2023.

Forest Swords (aka electronic producer/composer Matthew Barnes) returns. Having spent the past few years working as an in-demand composer and sound designer – writing music for ballet, film and video games – 'Bolted' was recorded over the last twelve months in Barnes’ home city of Liverpool. His ad hoc studio in a former vehicle and munitions factory (with connections to shadowy guerilla artists The KLF) became a gateway for him to explore, using a combination of hardware, software and tape machines to mould and sculpt a sound world for the album. Across its 11 tracks he dives deeper into his unique sonic vocabulary (including personal samples of Neneh Cherry and the late Lee Scratch Perry) to weave together a set of tracks that sounds equally muscular and bleak, haunting and euphoric. While his previous album – the acclaimed 'Compassion' released in 2017 – saw Barnes toy with widescreen technicolour, the world of ‘Bolted’ is tightly wound, taught, with a sense of aching urgency like never before.

Dinked 259

  • Translucent & marbled algae green vinyl 
  • Alternative artwork oversleeve designed by Forest Swords *
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • 12 page artwork booklet
  • Double-sided 12”x12” art print
  • Hand signed *
  • Limited pressing of 400 *

*EXCLUSIVE to Dinked Edition

Also available on Deluxe translucent & marbled algae vinyl, standard translucent green vinyl and CD.


  1. Munitions
  2. Butterfly Effect
  3. Rubble
  4. Night Sculpture
  5. Caged
  6. Tar
  7. The Low
  8. Chain Link
  9. Hjope
  10. End
  11. Line Gone Cold

Ninja Tune