Mercury Rev

Born Horses

  • Sale
  • Regular price £24.99
Tax included.

All orders will be posted on 06/09/2024.

In upstate New York, deep in the seam between the Catskill Mountains and the Hudson Valley, a richly swelling, spellbound sound emerges, eddying and flowing like the local Esopus Creek, or in the slipstream of the grander Hudson river, carrying the flotsam and jetsam of our hopes, dreams, fears. A sound composed of organic and electronic; guitars, keys, brass, strings, woodwind, drums - and a voice of incantations, tapping streams of consciousness that similarly eddy and flow.
Spiritually, literally, psycho-geographically: where else does Mercury Rev’s ninth album ’Born Horses’ spring from? This cascade of gleaming, glistening psych-jazz-folk-baroque-ambient quest that searches its soul but can never truly know the answer? A sound and vision begun with skeletal chords and surges of self-reflection, alive to the notions and motions of time and reality somehow both linked to their exalted past whilst quite unlike anything they have created before?’’

The album title, named after the majestically rippling sixth track ‘Born Horses’, was chosen because its words resonate through the entire record, encompassing the idea of flight (“I dreamed we were born horses waiting for wings”) and the phrase “You and I” that appears at different junctures on the album. This is not the concept of two separate people, but two parts of one self. 

Dinked 302

  • 140g red & white swirl vinyl *Alternate artwork ‘glow in the dark’ sleeve *

  • Pull out poster *

  • Signed & hand-numbered postcard *

  • 4 page lyric booklet

  • Limited pressing of 800 *

*EXCLUSIVE to Dinked Edition

Also available on standard Black vinyl and CD.


  1. Mood Swings
  2. Ancient Love
  3. Your Hammer, My Heart
  4. Patterns
  5. A Bird Of No Address
  6. Born Horses
  7. Everything I Thought I Had Lost
  8. There’s Always Been A Bird In Me

Bella Union