Johnny Flynn & Robert Macfarlane

The Moon Also Rises

  • Sale
  • Regular price £24.99
Tax included.

All orders will be posted on 10/11/2023. 

"The Moon Also Rises" is Johnny Flynn's sixth album, and the second co-written with his friend Robert Macfarlane. It gathers songs that Johnny and Robert have written together since finishing their first joint album, Lost In The Cedar Wood (2021). At its heart are the oldest themes of all: death and renewal, darkness and light. The first five tracks are songs of burial, shadows and memory, while the final four are songs of awakening, light and love. The album turns around a central song, ‘The Sun Also Rises’, which stands with a foot in both dark and light.

Fusing poetry, story, landscape, history, nature and myth into a series of rich, strange songlines that criss-cross time and place, joining winter to spring, ancient to present and birth to death. As the Sun sets, so the Moon rises as its echo; as one light dies, another, altogether different light is born.

Dinked 260 
  • Galaxy orange-black vinyl *
  • Bonus 7” black vinyl *
  • Signed & hand-numbered insert*
  • Limited pressing of 1500

*EXCLUSIVE to Dinked Edition

Also available on standard "moon" colour vinyl and CD.


  1. Uncanny Valley
  2. Song with no Name
  3. Burial Blessing
  4. No Matter the Weight
  5. Coins for the Eyes
  6. The Sun also Rises
  7. The Wild Hunt
  8. Through the Misty with You
  9. Year-Long Winter
  10. River, Mountain and Love